History of Grand Marshals of the ABA Parade

The Ashland Boys Association, which was established in 1901, celebrates it's annual homecoming in the borough on Labor Day with a parade.

Like any parade, a grand marshal is chosen.  Here is a look back over the years of chosen Grand Marshals

2015 - Adam J. Bernodin, III - Ashland Boys’ Association Pennsylvania State Historical Marker Nominator, Dedication Organizer, and Parade Organizer.  Bernodin was instrumental on securing the Ashland Boys' Association Pennsylvania State Historial marker at the base of the Mothers' Memorial.

2014 - Ashland Little League All Star Team - District 24 Champions (9/10 Year Old) and Presidents Club Float

2013 - Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission Dr. William Lewis and Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame Inductee Carson Long

2012 - Pioneer Tunnel Coal Mine and Steam Train - 50th Anniversary (Lokie Float)

2011 - Ashland Mummers Parade Committee - Jim Stephanchick and Jim Klock

2010 - Ashland Elk Antlers as the Oakland Miners’ (unofficial parade)

2009 - Reggie Parker and friends throwing candy (unofficial parade)

2008 - Jim Gruber - Rotary International District 7370 Governor

2007 - Ashland 150th Anniversary Celebration

2006 - Ashland Downtown Inc.- Mothers' Memorial Float

2005 - Ashland Mayor Rosemarie Noon

2004 - Ashland Area Rotary Club - Darcie Gruber and Karen Lechua

2003 - Ashland Little League - Jack Fickinger and Bill Urbanowicz

2002 - Ashland Hometown Heroes – Police Chief Adam Bernodin, Fire Chief Phillip Groody, Fire Police Captain Wally Schmidt, and Washington Fire Company Community Ambulance Association Assistant Chief Ray Jones

2001 - Emil Ermert – Former Borough Manager, Founder of the Pioneer Tunnel Coal Mine and Steam Train Tourist Attraction and Schuylkill Area Community Foundation (Ashland Trusts).

2000 - Ashland Boys’ Association 100th Anniversary Celebration - Ray McDonald

1999 - Ashland Little League All Stars Team - District 24 Champions

1998 - Ashland Little League All Stars Team - District 24 Champions

1997 - Pottsville Railway Little League All Stars - Williamsport World Series appearance

1996 - Ashland V.F.W. Post 7654

1995 - Veterans of World War II

1994 - Harold Johnston - Mothers' Memorial restoration project

1993 - Ashland Fire Department - Fire Chief Thomas Towers and Asstistant Fire Chief Edward O'Donnell 

1992 - North Schuylkill Lady Spartans PIAA Class AAA State Championship Basketball Team

1991 - Ann Helwig - Pennsylvania State VFW Ladies Auxiliary

1990 - Ashland Kiwanis Club

1989 - Joseph Cesari, Sr. - North Schuylkill "End of a Wrestling Era"

1988 - Mothers' Memorial 50th Anniversary - Ashland's two oldest mothers - Anna
McFadden 94, and Ann Marie Dillman 92,

1987 - Lillian Hornberger - Ashland Area Schuylkill County Nurse of Hope of American
Cancer Society

1986 - N/A
1985 - Ashland Little League All Star Team - District 24 Runner Up
1984 - N/A
1983 - North Schuylkill Wrestling State Championship Team
1982 - Pennsylvania State Champions Joseph Cesari and Kent Lane from North Schuylkill

 1981 -  Ashland Little League All Star Team - District 24 Champions

1980 - Remembering the hostages in Iran

1979 - Joseph Cesari Jr. World Schoolboy Wrestling Champion

1977 - Earl "Chick" Ervine

 1976 - United States Bicentennial Celebration

1957 Ashland Centennial Queen - Beatrice Schilling 

Share on Google Plus

About Skook News

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment