Gone But Not Forgotten Race to Wrap Up May Races at Big Diamond and Current Point Standings

MINERSVILLE, PA. -- Over the years, Big Diamond Speedway has been blessed to have some of the greatest people in racing grace the track as drivers, car owners, crew chiefs, mechanics or dedicated fans.

On Friday, the speedway will honor their memories with the Mark’s Service Station will present the Gone But Not Forgotten Race.

A list of names appears on a billboard behind the scoring tower for fans to see at the speedway and one of those names is Fran Purcell.

A long-time racer and car owner, Purcell died in November of 2008 and he was remembered in victory lane last Tuesday night by Ryan Watt while celebrating his win in the 50-lap Short Track Super Series Anthracite Assault modified feature.

“It’s a real big thing as I never ran Big Diamond that much and he gave me a shot at it and we got along real well,” Watt said. “Fran was so well known and to be involved with someone who was a big supporter of Big Diamond is really big to me.”

Friday’s race will be the first point race for the CJ’s Tire & Automotive Services 358 modifieds in a month thanks to rain outs.

They’ll be joined on the card by the U.S.S. Achey sportsman, Savage 61 roadrunners, No Sweat Service Group street stocks and the vintage cars.

General admission is $15, $13 for seniors and kids 12-and-under along with active military with a valid ID are free.

The gates opens at 5 with warm ups at 7:45 and racing getting underway at 8:15.

Current Point Standings
CJ's Tire & Automotive Services 358 Modifieds:
1. Ryan Godown 837
2. Billy Pauch Jr. 779
3. Jeff Strunk 774
4. Ryan Grim 749
5. Ray Swinehart 702
6. Rick Laubach 669
7. Ryan Watt 659
8. Duane Howard 653
9. Brett Kressley 628
10. Shawn Fitzpatrick 541.

U.S.S. Achey Sportsman:
1. Brandon Grosso 1466
2. Tim Fitzpatrick 1369
3. Wayne Witmer 1282
4. Ray Woodall Jr. 1182
5. Doug Hendricks 1065
6. Chuck Fayash 993
7. Matt Clay 972
8. Ed Mrochko 964
9. Ray Woodall Sr. 929
10.Kyle Gruber 888.

Savage 61 roadrunners:
1. Kody Sites 1133
2. Andrew Fayash III 1129
3. Terry Kramer 996
4. Tim Fitzpatrick Jr. 972
5. Jim Kost 972
6. T.J. Fitzpatrick 904
7. Steve Gromis 892
8. Kris Ney 875
9. Chuck Eckert 854
10. Devin Trexler 823.

No Sweat Service Group street stocks:
1. Eric Tripp 614
2. Rich Bossinger 577
3. Chris Derr 537
4. Jeremy Becker 505
5. Jasen Geesaman 480
6. Leroy Long 460
7. Bobby Kupp 459
8. Jim Somers 452
9. Scott Strickler 438
10. Elvin Brennan III 404.
Share on Google Plus

About Skook News

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment