Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Tamaqua Council Member Honored as State Council Member of the Year

Submitted Photo
HERSHEY – The Pennsylvania State Association of Boroughs (PSAB) announced the recipients of the Association’s prestigious service awards at PSAB’s 105th Annual Conference at the Hershey Lodge on Tuesday, June 7.

Awards were presented by PSAB President Jack Lawver and Awards Committee Chairman Tom Oliverio, who is also a Past President of the Association. In total, more than 150 individuals and boroughs were honored. “This is a special time of year when we recognize our borough officials and their special achievements as leaders in their communities,” Lawver said. 

In order to promote interest in good borough government and to recognize faithful and effective service by elected or appointed borough officials, PSAB has granted borough service awards to each borough official who is a member in good standing with the Association. 

These members must serve a minimum of 10 years at one or more boroughs. Officials are also recognized for completing a certificate of achievement leadership program and for distinguished service to the community and PSAB. 

Other awards are given by the Borough News Magazine, the official publication of the Association, to recognize outstanding municipal websites and newsletters. 

Other special awards honorees include: Robert “Doc” Orr of Girard Borough, Erie County, is being honored with the Anthony J. Defilippi Award for his dedication to advancing PSAB’s legislative initiatives. The award is named in honor on Defilippi, a councilman from Leechburg Borough, Armstrong County, who is also a past president of the Association. 

Micah Gursky, a council member from Tamaqua Borough, Schuylkill County, is being honored as the Council Member of the Year by the PA Borough Councils Association. Micah's fellow council members suggested he receive the award.

Four individuals are being honored with the A.C. Scales Award for their dedication and service to PSAB. They are Edward A. Child from Trumbauersville Borough, Bucks County; Grant Hunsicker from Lehighton Borough, Carbon County; Amy Seeley from Canton Borough, Bradford County; and Edward Mitchell from Upland Borough, Delaware County. 

Four individuals are also being honored with the Distinguished Service Award for service to their communities. They are Karen Giebfried and Joseph Matthew Sernell, both from Geistown Borough, Cambria County; Wayne Quick, Jr. from Hughestown Borough, Luzerne County; and Craig Reimel from Montrose Borough, Susquehanna County. 

PSAB is a statewide, non-partisan, non-profit organization dedicated to serving 957 borough governments. Since 1911, PSAB has represented the interests of boroughs and helped to shape the laws that laid their foundation. The Association improves and assists more than 9,000 borough government leaders through legislative advocacy, research, training and professional development, and programs. 

Learn more about PSAB at