Monday, May 21, 2018

Gillingham Charter School CEO elected on PA Coalition of Public Charter Schools’ Leadership Council

Gillingham Charter School, Pottsville,  announced on Thursday, May 17th, that the Director of Education and Founder, Nicolle Hutchinson, has been elected to the Leadership Council for the PA Coalition of Public Charter Schools.

Ana Meyers, Executive Director of PA Coalition of Public Charter Schools, notified the newly elected Leadership Council early Thursday morning. The new members will take their seats effective July 1, 2018.

The Leaders Council has three primary roles:

(1)To elect Charter School Leaders Trustees to the Board;
(2) To provide critical input and advice to the Coalition’s staff about programs and services including particularly any annual conference held and professional development services offered;
(3) To enable the Coalition to speak collectively for charter schools in Pennsylvania.

“I am thankful and excited to have such strong leadership to work with the upcoming school year. I have full confidence that this is going to be PCSPS strongest year to date!” says Ana Meyers.           
The next board meeting will take place July 19, 2018 at Commonwealth Charter Academy at 10am.

Below is a list of the Leaders Council:
  • Doug Allen, CEO, Tidioute Charter School - Tidioute (2020)
  • Gina Guarino Buli, CEO, Renaissance Academy Charter School – Phoenixville (2019)
  • Brian Hayden, CEO, PA Cyber - Midland (2020) – first term
  • Wayne Jones, COO, Penn Hills Charter School of Entrepreneurship - Pittsburgh (2020) - first term
  • Susan Mauser, CEO, Lehigh Valley Academy Regional Charter School -- Bethlehem (2020) – first term
  • Wendy Ormsby, Founder and Officer, Souderton Charter School Collaborative – Souderton (2021) – second term
  • Patricia Rossetti, CEO, Pennsylvania Distance Learning Charter School - Wexford (2021) – second term
  • David Rossi, CEO, Esperanza Charter Schools - Philadelphia (2019)
  • Karen Schade, CEO, School Lane Charter School – Bensalem (2021) – second term
    Ron Sofo, CEO, City Charter High School - Pittsburgh (2020) – first term
  • Yemele Ayala – Senior Director of Student Support Services, Aspira, Inc. Philadelphia (2021)- first term
  • Dr. John Chandler – CEO, PA Virtual Charter School (2021)-- first term
  • Dr. Mike Conti – CEO, Agora Cyber Charter School (2021) -- first term
  • Kate Datillo – Founder and COO, Environmental Charter School at Frick Park, Pittsburgh (2021)-- first term
  • Dr. Kelly Davenport – Founder and CEO, Freire Charter School, Philadelphia (2021) -- first term
  • Angel Figueroa – CEO, I-Lead Charter School , Reading (2021) first term
  • Dr. Marie George – CEO, Howard Gardner Multiple Intelligence Charter School, Scranton (2021) first term
  • Nicolle Hutchinson – CEO and Director of Education, Gillingham Charter School, Pottsville (2021) first term
  • Dr. Malynda Maurer – CEO, Central PA Digital Learning Foundation Charter School first term
  • Mary Jo Walsh – Principal, Fell Charter School, Simpson (2021) first term

Leaders Council serves 3-year terms and cannot serve more than 2 consecutive terms.