Saturday, May 13, 2017

Sites, Geesaman Earn Victories Before Rain Hit Big Diamond Speedway Friday Night

Big Diamond Speedway almost got the better of mother nature on Friday night.


Two of the four scheduled features were in the books when the rain intensified at the conclusion of the 358 modified consolation event forcing the postponement of the modified features and the enduro on Red White and Blue Autos Night. The speedway wishes to thank the many hearty
fans who came out and supported the track under threatening conditions.

The U.S.S. Achey sportsman feature will be made up this Friday night, May 19 while the Steel & Metal Service Centers 358 modified feature will be made up on June 9. The enduro will be made up on June 2.

With all of the qualifying events completed, the show is considered a full event.

Weather has played havoc with the early part of the 2017 schedule at Big Diamond as a late-season snowstorm and cold weather forced the opener to be pushed back while the track suffered its second rainout of the season on May 5.

This Friday, the American Racing Drivers Club midgets will make the first of two appearances at the speedway. They’ll be joined by the sportsman and their make-up feature along with the Savage 61,
roadrunners, No Sweat Service Group street stocks and the vintage cars.

The midgets return on July 21.

The gates will open at 5:30 p.m. on Friday with racing getting underway at 8:15. Admission for the event is $13, seniors $11, and Kid 12-and-under and active military with a valid ID are free.

A stellar field of 30 358 modifieds were signed in the evenings race. It was the third straight event in which the 358 modified car car was at or more than 30 cars in the pits. Heat winners were Rick Laubach, Brett Kressley and Justin Grim while Kevin Albert won the consolation event.

The sportsman had 24 cars signed in with heats wins going to Matt Stangle, Dave Dissinger, Mike Burrows.

Kody Sites continued his early-season winning streak in the 20-lap roadrunner feature as he claimed his third straight win in as many events to start the season.

Kris Ney would set the early pace but unfortunately for him, he would also bring out the first caution of the race when he slowed on the frontstretch at the start of lap 3.

Jim Kost, who was chasing down Ney for the race lead, took over the top spot when the caution came out. He would hold that spot on the restart through Turns 1 and 2 before Sites, who started ninth, took the lead away from him on the backstretch.

Sites would pull away from Kost, but by Lap 9, Kost was starting to reel in the leader.

Five laps later, Kost was close enough to try and race under Sites for the lead when Sites bobbled in Turn 2. Sites was able to gather his car and he maintain his lead going into Turn 3.

The yellow flag would fly three times over the final two laps setting up a one-lap dash to the checkers. Kost got a run going on Sites into Turn 1 on the final restart but Sites was able to pull away to go on to his third straight win.

Kost held on for second with Mike Reichert, Terry Kramer, Jr., and Devin Trexler rounding out the top five.

Jasen Geesaman won his first street stock feature of the year as he took the lead away from pole sitter Jeff Haag as the pair raced off of Turn 4 on the opening lap.

From there Gessaman was never challenged in the 20-lap feature as the race was slowed one time for a spin on lap 7.

Haag held on for second with with Chris Heller, Elvin Brennan III, and Chris Derr, rounding out the top five.

Sixth through 10th were Bobby Kupp, Eric Tripp, Joey Brennan, Justin Rhoads, and Tyler Stump.

Haag and Derr won the twin heat races.

The twice postponed Money in the Mountains big block/small block  combination show will take place on Friday, May 26. The 40-lap feature pays $6,000 to win, $400 to take the green and the winner of the event earns a guaranteed starting spot in the June 6 Short Track Super Series
event, a $500 value.

For the latest information, be sure to like the Big Diamond Speedway Facebook page; and follow the track on Twitter, @BigDSpdwy

For racers, here is the technical information for the Money In The Mountains Race:

PA/NJ/ Spec Head Small-Block On Gas (Grandview, NES, Big Diamond sealed
ONLY): 2,275 lbs.
PA/NJ/ Spec Head Small-Block On Methanol (Grandview, NES, Big Diamond
sealed ONLY): 2,350 lbs.
Open Small-Block (Max. 363 c.i.): 2,400 lbs.
Big-Block (Max. 477 c.i.): 2,500 lbs.
Delaware Big-Block (Over 477 c.i.): 2,600 lbs.
*Track scale is official.
*No aluminum block engines.
*No sail panels.
*40 laps, $6,000 to win, $400 green.
*Draw for position.
*24 cars to start the feature
*Feature winner will also receive a guaranteed starting spot for the
STSS event on June 6.
*25 point show up bonus for all cars signed in.

Updated Big Diamond Schedule
Friday, May 19
ARDC Midgets, sportsman, roadrunners, street stocks, vintages cars plus
sportsman feature from 5/12

Friday, May 26 Money in the Mountains (ppd from April 18)
Slifko Service Center Night/Gone But Not Forgotten Memorial.
Big Block/Small Block Challenge, 40 lap, $6,000 sportsman, roadrunners,
street stocks

Friday, June 2
U.S.S. Achey Night
Mid-Atlantic Sprint Car Series, sportsman, roadrunners, street stocks,
vintage cars and Enduro Dash (from 5/12)

Tuesday, June 6 Short Track Super Series (Rain date is 6-20).
Modified 50, $5,000 to win, sportsman, roadrunners (Rain date is 6-20)

Friday, June 9
Savage 61 Night
Roadrunner Back Yard Brawl 25, $661 to win, 358 modifieds, sportsman,
street stocks plus modified feature from May 12.

Big Diamond Speedway
May 12
Feature Results- Red White and Blue Autos Night
Steel & Metal Services 358 modified feature (25 laps): feature postponed
to June 9. Heat winners: Rick Laubach, Brett Kressley, Justin Grim.
Consolation winner: Kevin Albert.
U.S.S. Achey sportsman feature (20 laps): Feature postponed to May 19.
Heat winners: Matt Stangle, Dave Dissinger, Mike Burrows.
Savage 61 roadrunner feature (20 laps): 1. Kody Sites, 2. Jim Kost, 3.
Mike Reichert, 4. Terry Kramer Jr., 5. Devin Trexler, 6. Shawn Mulhall,
7. Kyle Wingle, 8. Shon Elk (DNF), 9. Kris Ney (DNF). Heat winner: Ney.
No Sweat Service Group street stock feature (20 laps): 1. Jasen
Geesaman, 2. Jeff Haag, 3. Chris Heller, 4. Elvin Brennan III, 5. Chris
Derr, 6. Bobby Kupp, 7. Eric Tripp, 8. Joey Brennan, 9. Justin Rhoads,
10. Tyler Stump, 11. Dean Hine, 12. Leroy Long, 13. Cory Phillips, 14.
Jesse Krasnitsky, 15. Robbie Wagner.

No comments:

Post a Comment