Sunday, December 24, 2023

Student-Athletes from Schuylkill County Recognized as Mini Max Award Winners

The Maxwell Football Club recently announced the winners of the 2023 Mini Max High School Awards, recognizing outstanding student-athletes across Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware. 

Among the 155 players selected from schools across the region, Schuylkill County boasts a notable representation with exceptional talents earning this accolade.

The Mini Max Awards, presented annually by the Maxwell Football Club, acknowledge student-athletes who have demonstrated exceptional prowess in football, academics, and community service throughout the 2023 season. Coaches from various schools nominated these players, setting high standards for their achievements both on and off the field.

The Mini Max Award winners from Schuylkill County are as follows:
  • Colm McGroarty - Mahanoy Area
  • Luke Stevenosky - Minersville Area
  • Lane Lehman - Pine Grove Area
  • Aiden Myers - Schuylkill Haven Area
  • Nick Ryan - Shenandoah Valley
  • Alex Achenbach - Williams Valley
These outstanding individuals now join an elite group of student-athletes who will be considered for the prestigious Player of the Year accolades. The Maxwell Football Club will select one player from each state—Pennsylvania, Delaware, and New Jersey—as the Player of the Year, with the unveiling scheduled to take place at the annual Mini-Maxwell Awards ceremony on February 4, 2024. The event is scheduled to take place at the Drexelbrook Event Center in Drexel Hill, PA.

Furthermore, the winners from New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware will contend for the Club’s 38th Jim Henry Award as the Outstanding Player in the region. The announcement of the Jim Henry Award recipient will also take place at the Mini-Max Awards ceremony.

Commenting on this year's honorees, Mark Dianno, President of the Maxwell Football Club, remarked, “This is another exceptional class of student-athletes who will represent the Mini Max Award very well. During their high school careers, they consistently rose to meet challenges and performed extraordinary feats on the fields, in their classrooms, and in their respective communities. On behalf of the entire Board of Directors and all the members of the Maxwell Football Club, we congratulate and salute this exceptional group of student-athletes on being 2023 Mini-Max Award winners and wish them much success in their future endeavors.”