Monday, August 29, 2022

New Pennsylvania State Troopers Graduate from Police Academy

Colonel Robert Evanchick, commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Police, announced that 64 cadets have graduated from the Pennsylvania State Police Academy. 

The class was the 164th to graduate from the academy in Hershey since it opened in 1960.

Colonel Evanchick told the cadets the rigorous training and education they received serve as the foundation of their careers.

"You will be scrutinized for every decision you make and sometimes for the decisions other law enforcement officers make," said Colonel Evanchick. "You need to be true to yourself, our Call of Honor, and do the right thing, even when doing the right thing may be the most difficult decision you will ever make."

Five cadets received special awards and recognition during today's ceremony at LCBC Manheim in Lancaster County:
  • Sean P. Gordon received the Ronald M. Sharpe Leadership Award for exemplifying the qualities of leadership and the John K. Schafer Memorial Award for the highest combined score on a series of physical skills tests;
  • Mitchell W. Obenrader received the American Legion Award for all-around academic, physical, ethical, and moral qualifications;
  • Nathan B. Burkhart received the Daniel F. Dunn High Scholastic Award for the highest level of academic achievement in the class;
  • Bryan J. Carlson received the Colonel Paul J. Chylak Memorial Driver Proficiency Award for the highest proficiency in driver safety training;
  • Roberto Spezza Jr. received the Sergeant Charles B. Gesford High Pistol Award for the highest score on the department's pistol qualification course.
The new troopers will report to the following stations on Sept. 6:

Troop B, Uniontown
Jordon R. Macfarlane
Dillan H. Nudi
Stephanie L. Seitz

Troop D. Butler
Patrick J. McClure
Jessica A. Mosura

Troop D. New Castle
Nathan B. Burkhart
Michael A. Forstrom Jr.
Garret L. Young

Troop E, Corry
Joshua A. Kirwin

Troop E, Erie
Haylee N. Schick

Troop E, Meadville
Mitchell W. Obenrader

Troop F, Milton
Jacob T. Horan
Joseph M. Yedlosky

Troop F, Montoursville
Bryan J. Carlson
Dylan M. Houser
Gary W. Kunkle
Matthew R. Patrick

Troop G, Bedford
Cory A. Storm

Troop G. Lewistown
Quinn A. Hunter
Cole L. Morey

Troop H. Carlisle
Tyler C. Black

Troop H, Chambersburg
Christopher M. Alleman

Troop H, Gettysburg
Parker M. Hoyt
Brock A. McCulloch

Troop H, Harrisburg
George W. Martin III

Troop H. Lykens
Dallas J. Bulsak

Troop H. Newport
Logan P. Knesh
John P. Shannon

Troop J, Avondale
Joseph W. Certo
Ryan J. McLaughlin
Joshua H. Padua
Jarrett D. Tolby

Troop J, Embreeville
James Frank V
Adam M. Stata

Troop J, York
Olivia P. Gard
Jacob T. Goranson
Matthew J. Johnson
Ross B. Venman

Troop K. Media
Sean P. Gordon
Nicholas P. Peroni

Troop K, Philadelphia
Brian Jaraba
Michael J. Kessler
Jeremy S. Knell

Troop K, Skippack
Reginald H. Washington

Troop L, Jonestown
Mohammed N. Ahmad
Nicholas S. Mowry
Jamie L. Restanio
Ryan S. Schuetrumpf

Troop L, Schuylkill Haven
Marc D. Buchhalter
Jordan T. Jimenez
Connor J. Nettles
Niklaus K. Yeastedt

Troop M, Bethlehem
Michael J. Limoli

Troop N, Lehighton
Shannon A. Grundmann
Roberto Spezza Jr.
Paul J. Steinmetz
Theodore J. Wilson Jr.

Troop N, Hazleton
Stefan L. M. Lawson

Troop N, Stroudsburg
Michael J. Besten Jr.
Alan M. Jadush
Paul D. Nye
Andy G. Singh

Troop P, Towanda
Damon C. Barhight
Anthony J. Pisano