Friday, December 30, 2022

Shenandoah Valley Boys Basketball Unveils District XI Championship Banner

On Thursday evening, the Shenandoah Valley Boys Basketball team unveiled their District XI Championship Banner from last season.

The 2021-2022 season for the team was an incredible Cinderella story that not only invigorated the students and school, but also the borough of Shenandoah.

The team fought hard all season going undefeated at home during the regular season, losing their Captain Luke Matta due to injury, and finishing the season 20-5.

The night of March 4th, 2022, in Martz Hall in Pottsville was the pinnacle of their season after they defeated Tri-Valley 56-44 for the District Championship and a berth in the PIAA State Class AA tournament.

The team would go on to win in the first round against Muncy (56-52) but fall against Constitution (60-46) to end their season.

Prior to the unveiling, Head Coach Robbie Miller spoke to his current and past players, as well as the fans in Shenandoah Valley Gymnasium.

"I could talk hours and hours about this team and the storybook that was their season.  The perseverance of this team is what they will be remembered for." Coach Miller said.

After being a dominate team as 8th graders, between losing a key player to a private school, injuries, and the pandemic the team began to rebuild the 3 years prior to the 2021-2022 season.

"The team fought for 3 years, and after all that, we lost Luke Matta to a major injury.  Perseverance came through, the seniors stepped up, and next thing you know, all of our dreams are complete". Coach Miller said.  "This is my 12th year coaching this team and these guys fulfilled by dream to fill that empty space on that wall that I've been trying to do since I got here".

Finally, the team and coached walked over to the west wall of the gymnasium and unveiled the new banner that will be displayed directly underneath the scoreboard.

The team members included:

  • Matthew Alvarez
  • Bobby Boris
  • Joan Guillen
  • Owen Kosar
  • Luke Matta
  • Nicholas Mikita
  • Jonathan Cano
  • Erick Hernandez
  • Kaleb Maksimik
  • Rian Ramos
  • Brian Rivera
  • Kenny Maldonado
  • Brady Najda
  • Estuardo Salguero
  • John Silvestre
  • Gunner Taylor
  • Brandon Boris
  • Brayden Maksimik
  • Jonathan Nagle
Coached by:
  • Head Coach Rob Miller
  • Asst. Coach John Gower
  • Asst. Coach Mark Kufrovich
  • Trainer:  Josh Kneal
  • Scorekeeper:  Kathy Boris