Thursday, May 16, 2019

North Schuylkill School Board Meeting Notes for May 2019

On Wednesday, May 15, 2019, the North Schuylkill School Board held their monthly meeting at 7:00am.

During the meeting, the following business items were addressed:

Approved the financial reports and check registers

Approved the Vaccine Administration Program Agreement with Rite Aid

Awarded the bid to Waste Management for Trash Disposal/Recycling Services for 2019-2020, 2020-2021 and 2021-2022

Approved the Proposed Final Budget for the 2019-2020school year

Approved the establishment of the current local taxes and real estate tax rates

Approved the dates for the Real Estate and Occupational Assessment Tax payments

Motion Failed on the sale of a repository property in Girardville

Approved the Intergovernmental Cooperation Agreement and MOU with the Schuylkill County Land Bank

Authorized the Solicitor to enter stipulation to consent to relief regarding the Land Bank Property Physical Facilities

Approved Facility Use Applications

Approved a proposal from R.B. Myers, Co., LLC, for the sand and repair of the CB gym floor

Approved a proposal from B&R Services, Inc., for the Floor Striping Summer Project

Approved proposals from Whistle Stop Fence Company for fencing at the stadium and baseball

Approved the Act 93 building assignments and salaries for the 2019-2020 school year

Approved a stipend to Melissa Perneta for her ServSafe Certification

Approved Scott Forney as an ESY Behavior Specialist Substitute from June 18, 2019 through July 25, 2019

Approved a childbearing/childrearing leave request for Jamie Swartz, Elementary Teacher

Approved the Department Chairpersons for the 2019-2020 school year

Approved the Grade Level Coordinators for the 2019-2020 school year

Acknowledged the transfer/change of assignment for the following individuals for the 2019-2020 school year:
  • Allison Bennett, Mary Lou Leibensperger and Erin Anderson
Approved Kayla Witt and Michael Yablonsky as Elementary Teachers

Approved the union professional employee positions, building assignments and salaries for the 2019-2020 school year

Approved fifteen additional summer work days for Secondary and Elementary Guidance Counselors

Approved the following individuals as Homebound Teachers for the 2019-2020 school year: Ann Subick, Michelle Misiewicz, Kelly Boyer and Karla Herring

Approved an Intermittent FMLA leave for Linda Lazar, Guidance Secretary

Accepted the notice of intent to retire from Diane Reed, Part-Time Cafeteria Worker

Accepted the resignation of Brittany Trimble, Part-Time Special Education Aide

Approved the union classified employee positions, building assignments and wage rates for the 2019-2020 school year

Approved the following individuals as Temporary Part-Time Summer Maintenance/Custodians for the Summer of 2019: Terry Senglar, Wendy Harhigh, Jennifer Ryan, Nicole Wehry and Dennise Wise

Approved the Gifted Manual for the 2019-2020 school year

Approved the 504 Manual for the 2019-2020 school year

Approved a five year Dual Enrollment Agreement with Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Approved the revised 2018-2019 Title I Letter of Agreementwith IU 29

Approved an Affiliation Agreement with Kutztown University for Educational Field Experiences Food Service, Safety, Transportation

Approved The Nutrition Group as the District’s Food Service Provider for the 2019-2020 school year

Approved Ellen Geidner as a Volunteer JH/JV Football Cheerleading Coach for the 2019 Season

Approved Allison Hughes as a Volunteer Varsity/JH/JV Football Cheerleading Coach for the 2019 Season

Approved Taylor Budwash as a Volunteer Assistant Volleyball Coach for the 2019 Fall Season

  • Approved the following Supplemental Positions for the 2019-2020 school year:
    Michelle Schwartz–Choral Director, Elementary;
  • Cody Kelly – Choral Director, Elem Assistant;
  • John Walsh and Tabitha Walsh –Elementary Envirothon;
  • Tim Hysock, Science Fair Coordinator;
  • Richard Leibig, Kelly Laudeman and Cody Kelly –Tech Lead Teachers;
  • Leah Briggs and Ann Subick – 4H Club;
  • Joseph Wyatt–Academic Team Advisor;
  • Ann Subick–Act 48 Coordinator;
  • William Lennox – Band Director;
  • Justene Frushone – Band Director, Assistant;
  • Sarah Antanavage – Band Front Advisor;
  • Brandi Kline - Choral Director, JSHS;
  • William Lennox – Choral Director, JSHS Assistant;
  • Michael Evans and Amy Maziekas – Class Advisors, Freshmen;
  • Amy Maziekas and Mike Evans – Class Advisors, Sophomores;
  • Michael Evans and Nick Brayford – Class Advisors, Juniors;
  • Nick Brayford and Amy Maziekas – Class Advisors, Seniors;
  • William Lennox – Concert Band;
  • Ashley Borzak – Creative Tech Club Advisor;
  • Maria Zangari – Debate Team Coach;
  • Bonita Leib –Diversity Club Advisor;
  • Samantha White and Danielle Moyer – Envirothon – Junior High;
  • Siobhan White and Morgan Bretz – Envirothon - Senior High;
  • Joseph Wyatt – Fire/Rescue;
  • Michael Evans and Marc Wislosky – Friends Forever Advisors,
  • Joseph Wyatt–Geography Bee Coordinator;
  • Siobhan White –Geography Bee Assistant;
  • John Cuthie – Honor Society Advisor;
  • Renata Blozousky – Subject Honor Society - Math;
  • Rachel Anderson – Subject Honor Society – English;
  • Lindsay Furman - Subject Honor Society – Foreign Language;
  • Kelly Boyer – Subject Honor Society – Science;
  • Joseph Wyatt - Subject Honor Society – Social Studies;
  • Philip Tenaglia – Math Counts Advisor;
  • Joann Miller and Michelle Misiewicz – NS News & Media Group Advisors;
  • Betty Terry – Pep Club;
  • Harry Lucas – Play Director;
  • John Cuthie – Play Director Assistant;
  • Brandi Kline - Play – Music Director
  • Lynn Minalda – SADD Advisor;
  • Harry Lucas – Senior Project Coordinator;
  • Riyuichi Narita - Ski Club Advisor;
  • Lindsay Furman and Danielle Moyer - Spanish Club Advisors;
  • Heather Schlein – Spelling Bee Coordinator;
  • Nathan Hampton – STEM – Junior High
  • Kelly Stone – STEM – Senior High;
  • Harry Lucas – Student Council Advisor;
  • ynn Minalda – TAT Advisor;
  • Jennifer Rex, Leah Briggs and Michelle Misiewicz – Tech Lead Teachers;
  • Craig Wagner – Trap Club;
  • Scott Frew – Weightlifting Advisor(1st Half);
  • Joe Tomtishen – Weightlifting Advisor(2nd Half);
  • Amy Maziekas – Yearbook Advisor;
  • Renata Blozousky – Yearbook Assistant Advisor;
Approved the second reading of the following policies: 247, 249, 222, 323, 707, 904, 103, 103.1 & 104
Approved the first reading of the following policies: 702.1, 335, 435, 535, 913 and 150

Mary Anne Woodward was elected Treasurer

Information Item - Updated one attachment to Policy 918 – District-Wide Title I Parental Involvement - Title I School-Parent/Guardian Compact of the North Schuylkill Elementary School

Acknowledged -that NS STC Students will wear District issued pins at graduation symbolizing their participation in the Schuylkill Technology Center. Additionally, all STC National Honor Society Students will wear National Honor Society cords issued by STC at graduation.