Sunday, June 19, 2022

Big Diamond Speedway Results - 06/17/2022

Big Diamond Speedway results from Friday, June 17th, 2022
In what could only be described as a thriller, Brett Kressley used his veteran savvy to make a last lap pass of Louden Reimert to win the Insigner Performance Modified feature race last night at Big Diamond Speedway. Kressley pocketed $3,000 for the win. Danny Buccafusca became the first driver in the history of the USS Achey Crate 602 Sportsman at Big Diamond to win back-to-back features as he won the $1,157 Fayash Memorial. Alex Schoffstall was back in victory lane in winning the Red White and Blue Autos Roadrunner main event.

The Insigner Performance modifieds feature race was slow to get started as all-time speedway feature event winner Craig Von Dohren spun in turn three before a lap could be completed. The second attempt to get the race started was not much better as multiple cars got together in turn one with points leader Duane Howard doing a slow roll to bring out the red. All drivers were okay.

The cautions continued as the race ticked off one lap at a time due to separate spins bringing out the yellow on bot lap one and two. Finally, the race got going with Brett Kressley taking the over-the-top spot after the lap two restart. Louden Reimert was making moves through the pack and was now up to the second spot. A lap 16 restart for Ken Eckert Jr slowed down Kressley’s pace. On the ensuing restart Reimert surprised Kressley and out raced him on the outside to take over the race lead.

The race was not over though as Kressley turned up the wick on his No. 19K and continually worked the outside groove as Reimert kept his No. 16 tucked down low. Another yellow on lap 19 gave Kressley a shot on the restart but Reimert was up to the task and continued to lead when racing resumed. The leaders battled hard as the field was given the five to go signal. Kressley kept up the pressure as he drove the high side able to pull even with Reimert on several occasions, but Reimert seemed to have the speed to hold him off coming off the turns. With two laps to go, Kressley was pushing it as hard as he could up top and after the duo took the white flag side by side, Kressley was able to finally able to get the launch he needed going through turn one and two to take the lead going down the back. Kressley moved to the inside through the final turns to protect his lead and went on to take the thrilling win over Reimert. Eddie Strada won a hard battle with Von Dohren to steal third away at the end with Von Dohren having to settle for fourth. Rick Laubach completed the top five.

“Shoutout to Louden (Reimert) he raced me real clean there at the end, said Kressley in victory lane with track announcer Dino Oberto. “He gave me plenty of room to do what I had to do. He kind of snookered me there on that restart there and we lost our momentum on the bottom. Hats off to Jake (Smulley), he has an outside here. Louden has been really good here for the last couple of years here with the coil stuff, but it was just I wanted it really bad and was a little upset I gave it away on that restart. Thanks to all the fans.”

With this being a draw race for the USS Achey Crate 602 Sportsman division, it was last week’s winner Danny Buccafusca leading the field to the green. Buccafusca wasted no time as took the lead at the drop of the green. Sixth-place starter Brandon Edgar was slicing through the field and took over second on lap five. In a replay of last week’s feature race, it was Edgar again chasing Buccafusca. Buccafusca kept his No. 20G on the bottom while Edgar did his best to work the top. Just like last week, Buccafusca was able to keep the lead as Edgar just couldn’t get the bite, he needed on the outside to make the pass. Buccafusca was able to hold off the points leader Edgar to take consecutive wins and the $1,157 first place prize for winning the Fayash Memorial. Mike Scheck, Craig Whitmoyer who rebounded from an early race spin and Logan Watt rounding out the top five.

“It feels really good, I feel like Michael Jordan in 95 or 96,” said a very excited Buccafusca while being interviewed in victory lane by Barry Angstadt. “I feel like an MVP right now, winning back-to-back is awesome. Shoutout to Brandon Edgar for racing me clean, I don’t know how close he was. I felt like I wasn’t that good, I couldn't keep the car or the tires underneath me and I thought for sure that Brandon was flying by me on outside once or twice. Thank you to all of my sponsors, Alpha Recycling, Gilroy Northeast and everybody who helps out. Shoutout to my mom who is watching at home.”

It was a familiar face back in victory lane in the Red White and Blue Autos Roadrunner class with Alex Schoffstall picking up his second win of the season. Todd Roth led lap one with CJ Ferguson taking the top spot-on lap two. After a stoppage for a red flag when the No. 86D of Darren Long barrel rolled down the front stretch, Long was okay. Back to racing and it was a good three car battle for the lead between Ferguson, points leader Mike Reichert and Schoffstall. Ferguson would slip up and allow both Reichert and Schoffstall to go by and put on a great show for the fans. Schoffstall was able to wrestle the lead away on lap 15 and take the win. Reichert, Andrew Fayash III, Joe Bassininsky and TJ Fitzpatrick were the top five.

Full results from June 17th, 2022

Insigner Performance Modifieds (PA Tri-Track Spec 358 Series Race #2) 1. Brett Kressley 2. Louden Reimert 3. Eddie Strada 4. Craig Von Dohren 5. Rick Laubach 6. Mike Lisowski 7. Nick Rochinski 8. Dan Hineline 9. Tim Fitzpatrick 10. Heath Metzger 11. Scott Albert 12. Corey Renninger 13. Kevin Beach Jr 14. Ken Eckert Jr 15. Chris Jenkins 16. Shawn Light 17. Duane Howard 18. Mike Gular DNS Ryan Watt

Modified Heat Winners: Kevin Beach Jr & Brett Kressley

Modified Penske Shocks Gift Certificate Winners: Brett Kressley ($100), Louden Reimert ($75) & Eddie Strada ($50)

Modified Top Ten in Points: 1. Louden Reimert 683 2. Brett Kressley 677 3. Eddie Strada 674 4. Duane Howard 652 5. Craig Von Dohren 626 6. Nick Rochinski 604 7. Mike Lisowski 449 8. Kevin Beach Jr 385 9. Jeff Strunk 372 10. Rick Laubach 366

Savage 61 Crate 602 Sportsman: 1. Danny Buccafusca 2. Brandon Edgar 3. Mike Schneck 4. Craig Whitmoyer 5. Logan Watt 6. Xavier Sprague 7. Talan Carter 8. Tajae Adams 9. James Costlow 10. Dave Shirk 11. Matt Yoder 12. Shon Elk 13. Kris Ney 14. Daryl Dissinger 15. Kevin Kaplafka 16. Marty Shappell 17. Mike Burrows 18. Kaitlyn Bailey 19. Brandon Olseski 20. Kyle Kania 21. Kevin Olenick 22. Wes Brady 23. Doug Snyder 24. Bobby Kupp

DNQ: Mia guy, Nick DeSantis & John McGeoy

Crate Sportsman 602 Heat Winners: Kyle Kania, Tajae Adams & Logan Watt

Crate Sportsman 602 Consi Winner: Kris Ney

Crate 602 Penske Shocks Gift Certificate Winners: Danny Buccafusca ($100), Brandon Edgar ($75) & Mike Schneck ($50)

Crate Sportsman Points: 1. Brandon Edgar 818 2. Danny Buccafusca 766 3. Matt Yoder 654 4. Logan Watt 591 5. Kyle Kania 574 6. Kevin Olenick 551 7. Mike Schneck Jr 536 8. Talan Carter 533 9. Daryl Dissinger 472 10. James Costlow 466

Red White and Blue Autos Roadrunners: 1. Alex Schoffstall 2. Mike Reichert 3. Andrew Fayash III 4. Joe Bassininsky 5. TJ Fitzpatrick 6. Jarod Bassininsky 7. CJ Ferguson 8. Dave Schultz 9. Tonya Lance 10. Chuck Fayash 11. Dave Daubert 12. Glenn Rowan 13. Austin Schultz 14. Tod Roth Jr 15. Darrin long 16. Samantha Zipp DNS – Jim Kost

Roadrunner Heat Winners: Mike Reichert & TJ Fitzpatrick

Roadrunner Points: 1. Mike Reichert 1200 2. Alex Schoffstall 1002 3. Andrew Fayash III 951 4. Chuck Fayash 855 5. TJ Fitzpatrick 756