Friday, August 25, 2023

Drought Watch Lifted for Schuylkill County

DEP has announced that the Drought Watch has been lifted for Schuylkill County.

On Thursday, the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection announced after a meeting of the Commonwealth Drought Task Force that drought watch has been lifted for 47 counties including Schuylkill County.

According to DEP,  the Drought Watch was lifted for the following counties:  Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Bradford, Butler, Cambria, Carbon, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Crawford, Delaware, Elk, Erie, Forest, Greene, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lawrence, Luzerne, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Mifflin, Monroe, Montour, Northumberland, Philadelphia, Pike, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland and Wyoming counties.

The Drought Watch hadbeen in effect for these counties since mid-June.

The Drought Watch remains for the following:  Adams, Berks, Bucks, Cameron, Chester, Clarion, Cumberland, Dauphin, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Montgomery, Northampton, Perry, Venango and York counties.

Residents on drought watch are asked to reduce their individual water use by 5 to 10%, or a reduction of three to six gallons of water per day.